Posted by: nickgerlich | January 27, 2008

Blogging For Dollars

Imagine a world in which a person is paid for words he says. It would be very profitable for the speaker, while the listeners don’t realize what is happening to them.

In the realm of business, they call this advertising. Sneaky, but advertising nonetheless. And in the realm of society in general, I suppose you could call it an insidious plot to influence unwitting listeners, so under the radar that no one would ever notice they are being hammered. Not quite subliminal, but darn close.

Pay Per PostThis is exactly what is happening courtesy of the folks at Per Per Post, a site that matches advertisers to bloggers. The blogger writes a post about a particular topic, destination, product, service, etc., and gets paid to do it, because it is in fact an advertisement.

And we all know how powerful word-of-mouth advertising is. We often trust it more than we do the regular in-your-face kind. So Pay Per Post and its advertisers try to bypass our normal defenses, and instead slip us a mickey through the verbal cocktail of bloggers whom we no more know than the man on the moon.

Effective? Could be. While my academic blog is closed in that no one from the outside can enter, I copy the contents to my public blog. And it is routinely indexed by Technorati and Google, resulting in lots of visitors.

Hey, wait a minute! You mean I could have actually been making money on this stuff all along?

Right again, blogger breath.

Maybe I should sign up with these guys. In no time at all my students might start reading blogs from out of nowhere on topics and sites as diverse as LaserMonks, vacationing in Sedona, or the merits of being a Skeptic.

Wait another minute. I have already written extensively about #1 and #3, and they haven’t paid me a nickel. That’s what I get for not using Pay Per Post.

Thus far I have written over 600 blogs for my students since Summer 2005, and if words were nickels, I would be close to retirement. I would need a wheelbarrow to haul my coins to the bank.

Who needs ethics (or a day job) when you can tap into a reverse micropayment cash stream like this? I’ve done this all wrong. I’ve been wasting my breath (and labor) saying all this for nothing. From now on, everything you read in my blogs will be there for a reason. I’ll see you at the bank.

Dr “Couldn’t Wait For April First” Gerlich

Leave a Reply

Categories

